town&countrybiker


First Day of Summer?
June 8, 2009, 8:04 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today is supposed to be 78 degrees. I guess it depends on how close you are located to Lake Michigan. I decided to take my newest bike out for a spin after heading to the gym at lunch. My newest bike is my first single speed/flip flop hub bike, a Raleigh One Way.

Looking at any of my past posts, it is probably easy to see that I have a “thing” for Raleigh bikes. Until the last year or so, I was only really sold on the original Raleighs that were built in Nottingham UK. In college I had a Raleigh mountain bike, but I think that it may have been of US origin.

Raleigh seems to be paying attention to the bike market however as they are now producing bikes like the One Way that use Chinese manufacturing along with some of their vintage styling sensibilities.

I have not put that many miles on the One Way- probably under 100, due to the weather as well as the feeling that even ulocked, this bike would get ripped. that said, the 70lb PSI tires and Reynolds steel frame provide a supple ride, as I believe the frame geometry to be somewhat relaxed. The weathered looking Brooks B17 saddle has to add to the comfort as well.

So today, between conference calls, I elected to take the steed down to the lake. The picture above shows me flying towards the 90 foot bluff down a lane called Walden. At that exact instant, the air temp went from the mid 70s to the mid 60s, at least when I started down the lane. It was like a wall of cold. I was wearing a black tee shirt, so I could really feel the sun’s heat, but as soon as I hit Walden, I hit the cold.

Not to worry, though, as I went across the bridge and started back west, I was able to grab some rays and heat up. Not a bad lunch break!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

