town&countrybiker


Virgil Gilman Trail
July 20, 2009, 2:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

On Saturday, I headed out to Oswego to take a ride with a friend, BW. I took the Root Beer Bike along for the car ride to BW’s house.

We took off from his house, and I assumed that we would be taking the Fox Valley Trail. We started on a local Oswego trail that took us through a park and via an easement through a development and a neighborhood. Then we took a short, steep downhill into the Fox River Trail.

I believe that part of the FVT follows IL 25. We headed in a northerly direction for maybe two miles and then we made a west turn onto The Virgil Gilman Trail across the Fox River via an old train bridge. Here is a link to a PDF map of the VGT.

I had never heard of the Virgil Gilman Trail but I was very impressed. The first part has a dodgy road section and passes by a homeless shelter, but continues though a variety of trails. There were both meadows and forest sections. At one point, I said to BW that I felt that I was in Ewok land as the tall trees were green leaf filled, the trail was smooth and rolling and we were flying.

We took the majority of the trail, and ended up at the Wabonsie Community College, where the trail ends. We flipped around and headed back to Oswego to get some lunch.

It was one of the best rides of the year so far, as for distance, I would say we did around 35 miles total. What a blast on a perfect day for a ride!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

