town&countrybiker


Full Moon Ride with FBC Chicago
August 8, 2009, 9:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I took the Metra on Thursday afternoon into the city to do some riding and to hand out with friends, I brought along the Root Beer Bike for my transportation.

First off, I have to say that I love my folding bikes, but having a full size Raleigh is really the way to travel in the city.

So I got the Metra and had an involved conversation with another bike rider regarding globalization, so that made the train ride go by quickly.  I got off the train in Rogers Park and met up with my friend Quisp as he agreed to take a mid day ride with me. The weather was perfect in the mid ’70s and plenty of sun.

Taking the lake Front Path with a nice 12mph pace was perfect for the conditions. When I got to the Diversey tunnel, Chef and I parted ways and I motivated towards The Duke of Perth to meet with DB and his family for some drinks in the beer garden.

The choice of beers was tops as was the company and we spent a few hours catching up and munching on some great, but probably unhealthy food. I have to say their fish and chips served with peas was the best that I have had in a long time. good thing I did a lot of pedaling to mitigate some of the calories…

After that, DB and I walked up to the Gingerman. We had a couple of beers here while the FBC started filing in for the monthly Full Moon Ride. At 9, I parted way with DB and I introed myself to a few of the FBC riders.

We took off on the ride around 9:20 or so. Ironic enough, we started taking the Lake Front Path north, effectively retracing my ride from earlier in the afternoon. The ride was fun and pretty uneventful, but to my surprise, we ended up at Duke’s Hideaway in Rogers Park.

Neil, the proprietor was very welcoming, but I did hesitate when he suggested that we (all 30 riders) put our bikes in the back behind the bar. (I am no city phobe, but there is no way I was going to lock up my bike to itself in the late night shadows of Morse Ave.) Then Neil said that he had a garage. This was actually an old brick barn that had a double garage door with an auto opener. So we put our bikes in there and Neil said that he wold come out and open up any time that we wanted to leave=COOL!

The bar itself was a small friendly place with an open mic and some acoustic blues being played. One of the FBC riders brought their husky Presley and it was great to meet him as well. I enjoyed the vibe and will be back!

This was FBC #8 and I am already looking forward to FBC #9.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

