town&countrybiker


Raleigh 20 Kickstand Removal
October 18, 2009, 12:26 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

As I mentioned earlier, my kickstand on my Raleigh 20 has a mind of its’ own. It will not stay up after it has been folded, and seems pretty wobbly when it is extended as well. The thing is that the stand is mounted to a built in mount unlke my other Raleigh kickstands.PIC-0135Here is the pin at the right sie of the tube that holds the kick stand. It is a bit different than some of the kickstand setups that I have seen on the nets. I think that since the Raleigh 20 is pretty small, that explains some of the differences. I am betting that I can pull that pin and the entire assembly can be pushed out easily.PIC-0136Here I am using some pliers to pull the pin as the kickstand is between the fully extended and the fully folded position. this position allows me the greatest access to the pin.

PIC-0137

With a bit of elbow grease, I was able to remove the pin with the pliers. Notice the hole is now pin free.

PIC-0138

Success! Here is the kickstand, with the spring and the retaining pin replaced after removal. I bet that I removed 2 pounds by taking off the kickstand.

This was pretty easy, it just took a bit of focr to remove the 37 year old pin.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

