town&countrybiker


Guido Fawkes Tweed Ride 7 November 2009
November 8, 2009, 2:26 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday, I set about to meet up with the Tweed Ride in Commemoration of Mr. Fawkes attempt at blowing up Parliament.

I contemplated using the R20, but at the last minute, knew that I would more further appreciate a nice fall ride on a full size bike. Since I planned to use Metra commuter rail, I opted to use the Root Beer Bike as opposed to The Green Machine. Typically, your bike will become part of a scrum of bikes on a nice day such as Saturday.

PIC-0179

root beer bike upon metra

I got to the Ravenswood station right on time and then headed east on the bike (unfriendly) lane on Lawrence. In about 2 minutes I arrived at the Chicago Ale House. I parked right next to a Pedersen. Completely and totally unique looking (and operating I’m sure) bicycle. I went inside and tried my first Lagunitas Pilsner.

PIC-0180

tweed riders in front of chicago ale house

Upon leaving the Ale House we headed on a nice route to Duke of Perth. I was treated to some classic tunes by Stiff Little Fingers and The Damned (“New Rose”.) To paraphrase a comment, “Why did they go goth?”

PIC-0181

tweed ride heading north

On the way to DoP, we stopped in Andersonville for some Puppet Bikery. Notice aforementioned Pedersen on left.

PIC-0182(2)

tweed riders enjoy puppet bike

After the DoP, we headed to Weeds. I called an audible and headed home for a wonderful late dinner with family and friends. I am sure that the bonfire was a blast!

PIC-0184

blurry tweed bikes @ weeds'

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

