town&countrybiker


New Shoes for Root Beer Bike
May 10, 2010, 6:06 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was riding the Root Beer Bike week or so back and as I was rounding the last turn onto my street, I heard the tell tale hissing sound of a massive flat.

Upon further inspection, my front tyre was losing air, and as I checked the situation further, I noticed that there were literally tons of little holes in my Kenda gumwall tyres. The Kendas are cheap but the kind of mileage that I put on the Root Beer Bike, I need to step up the quality ladder.

After some searching, I found a tyre that seems to be the stuff: Schwalbe Delta Cruiser in 26×1 3/8 in whitewall! This tyre has a modern tread pattern and looks to be more sturdy than the 27 inch whitewalls that I put on my Grand Prix a few years back.

I also put some new tubes in while I had the tyres off.

The Schwalbes look great and the handling and stopping prowess of the Root Beer Bike has also been greatly improved. Looking forward to riding the wheels off!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

